• English
  • Italiano
Fourth WINIR Conference on Institutions & Open Societies

The Fourth WINIR Conference on Institutions & Open Societies will take place at the Utrecht University, Utrecht, The Netherlands, from September 14, 2017 to September 17, 2017. The deadline for paper submission is March 13, 2017.

Background and call for papers

Democracies and open societies have recently suffered a number of setbacks. As the adverse impacts of financial crises, inequalities in wealth and income, globalized trade and capital mobility have become more pronounced, the world seems increasingly threatened by authoritarian populism. In this context of turmoil, many of the accepted doctrines and policies that had previously been taken for granted are being challenged, and serious concerns about the possible futures of economically and politically open societies have been raised.

Organised in close collaboration with Utrecht University's “Institutions for Open Societies” research programme, the Fourth WINIR Conference is set against this backdrop. The conference especially welcomes contributions from any academic discipline that address the challenges and dynamics of the economic, political, legal and social institutions of our time. Submissions on any other aspect of institutional research are also welcome.

Keynotes lectures will be given by:

Johanna Mair (Hertie School of Governance, management)
James Robinson (University of Chicago, politics)
Juliet Schor (Boston College, sociology).

The conference will also feature a round table on "ICT, Open Societies and New Institutions", featuring José van Dijck (Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences, media studies), Haroon Sheikh (Dasym Investment Strategies, philosophy) and Fredrik Söderqvist (Unionen, economics), and will be preceded by a PhD workshop. A separate call for papers for this pre-conference event will follow shortly.

Submissions (300 words max.) from any discipline, theoretical approach and methodology are welcome.

Submissions will be evaluated by the WINIR Scientific Quality Committee: Bas van Bavel (Utrecht, history), Simon Deakin (Cambridge, law), Geoff Hodgson (Hertfordshire, economics), Uskali Mäki (Helsinki, philosophy), Katharina Pistor (Columbia, law), Sven Steinmo (EUI, politics), Wolfgang Streeck (Max Planck Institute Cologne, sociology), Linda Weiss (Sydney, politics).

We look forward to receiving your submission.

More information

URL for Further Information: 
WINIR 2017


ZZZ Prova

This is just a draft. Thank you for your patience.

Upcoming events

No events in the list.